A Day In the Life of Revival Girl

While for the rest of the world, the day is actually Thursday, for this girl, it is Wednesday, the middle of her work week.

What does this Revival Girl do to support her currently puppy and kitty filled household plus her husband?  Well, she works in Customer Service.  Normally this time of year, with spring breaks happening at different weeks for different places over a period of several months, it’s a crazy time.

You would think that working customer service in a video game industry where we just had one game go from open beta to launch, another major release, a pre-sale and new service announced, and another game go into technical alpha that I would be pretty close to ripping my hair out about now.  Luckily, I’m not, and thankfully, everything has gone pretty smoothly.

If you read this and have an inkling of what that last paragraph means, I’ll say yes to you, but won’t mention names at all nor advertise with brightly colored flags exactly where it is I work.  Though if you follow my personal face book, it’s not that hard to figure out. ❤  Thank you for respecting my wishes on this one!

This slower time when I can focus on making each interaction with our customers a positive one, even if I have to say no, and no really does mean no for the people I inevitably have to say no to, means that I can not only enjoy music, but enjoy other things I like listening to and still meet my goals for the day.

For our Monday, this meant listening to Women’s Conference.  For yesterday, it meant listening to Genesis (again).

That’s right, I love our creation story.  Our Heavenly Father blessed us with a beautiful written record of the creation of our world and yes, I do believe that God orchestrated the creation of the world in seven ‘days’.  While I believe that these seven ‘days’ were not day seven ‘days’ as we know days, I believe that in what he sees as a day is how long it took to make the world that perfectly supports life as it should be made.

I’ve read the book of Genesis probably more times than I’ve read my Book of Mormon, or any other book, second only to Revelations.  Why?  The beginning brings to mind color and creativity, a world teaming of life exploding into existence complete with light and amazing sounds.

As a Mormon, I believe in pre-mortal existence during which we witnessed the creation of the world itself at the hands of our Heavenly Father.  Though I cannot remember it now, I picture it like this:

An infinite choir and orchestra has gathered along the veil to watch.  Their excited, full of hope and joy for what is about to come to be.  And then in a moment, it begins.

His hands raised, the Lord commands there to be light!  And this is what I hear in my imaginings….

 

 

Have a blessed day. 🙂

One thought on “A Day In the Life of Revival Girl

Leave a Reply

